Facebook VolleyballEngland
Username: Password:  Remember me
 + Register
Latest News - London Teams
London Volleyball : Gold and Silver for Richmond
Posted by Media Team on 2018/5/14 16:20:00 (67 reads)

National under 15 Championships
EBC Greenhouse beat eventual winners on downward road
Richmond Juniors won the under 15 girls competition and came second in the boys to round off a remarkable season in which they contested all six of the national age group finals and won four of them

Six teams had qualified for this last stage and began by playing the other two sides in pools of three. In the girls' Richmond began with a satisfactory 25:18 25:17 victory over Redhill Stourbridge before beating Tameside B relatively comfortably 25:9 25:7 while Tameside A won the other pool. Semi-finals followed in which Richmond beat Ashcombe 25:8 25:17 and Tameside dismissed Stourbridge. Then in a final between the same two clubs that had contested under 16 and under 18 finals, Richmond overcame their north-west rivals 25:21 25:23 in a thrilling match.

The boys followed the same format with a London side in each pool. In one, EBC Greenhouse first beat Urmston 25:22 25:12 before surprising everyone by overcoming Boswells A 17:25 25:20 15:10 to top their pool. In the other pool, Richmond beat Haughton Darlington comparatively easily 25:14 25:6 before a tremendous contest with Redhill Stourbridge which Richmond lost 25:16 19:25 10:15. The semi-finals ripped up the form book with each pool winner being eliminated by the other pool's runner up. Richmond defeated EBC Greenhouse 25:20 21:25 15:7 and Boswells beat Redhill. After that, EBC Greenhouse and Stourbridge tied third place before a tight final in which Boswells beat Richmond 25:23 25:20.

There is no doubt which club everyone will be striving to beat next season.

National Netball Centre, Loughborough, 15th May

Source, Volleyball England.
Contributor, Douglas Barr-Hamilton

Printer Friendly Page Send this Story to a Friend Create a PDF from the article
To add a comment you must be logged-in.
Comments are owned by the poster