Facebook VolleyballEngland
Username: Password:  Remember me
 + Register
Latest News - London Teams
Men's Div. 2 B : Greenhouse stun leaders
Posted by Douglas Barr-Hamilton on 2018/4/18 13:31:57 (135 reads)

EBC Greenhouse beat Fireball (Men’s D2B - London Volleyball League)
21:16 21:19 22:24 22:20

Ernest Bevin take the glory
This was a result that was not expected and throws open the race for the title. Moreover, if Fireball looked a little casual early on, they were soon having to produce their very best volleyball and still saw Greenhouse take the honours.

The home side immediately took the opening two rallies and were very quickly 6:2 and 9:3 ahead. From then on play was very even indeed not only for the remainder of the first set but for the entire match. Greenhouse took the first honours by five points but the next three went to the minimum margin of just two.

Greenhouse secured the vital two point lead at 16:14 in the second and clung on as it was reduced to a single point - but no less - before Fireball, serving at 20:19 made a service error. The third set was initially close but Fireball took a tiny lead at 5:7 before increasing it to 7:11 and then Greenhouse clawed their way back into the set, Eventually the scores were tied at 21:all. Greenhouse won a twenty-second. Side out tied the score and then a couple of good serves from Daniel Carrarde secured Fireball the set. They were still in the match.

The teams each had a spell leading in the fourth but Fireball looked to have forced a fifth deciding set at 19:20. Then Ashley Trodden's time-out and some good play at the net by Axel Alabi, Matthew Burnett and Thomas Jefferson earned their side service and Thomas held his nerve to produce two well placed serves that set up the winning of the two points they needed for a famous and shock win.

Ernest Bevin College, Tooting, 7th April

EBC Greenhouse
Starting six: Axel Alabi, Matthew Burnett, Thomas Jefferson, Nasir Khan (captain), Josiah Prempeh, Ted Turner.
Libero: Rayyan Akram.
Other players: Stephen Cofie, Visman Thivaharan.
Coach: Ashley Trodden.

Starting Six: Daniel Carrarde, Moritz Clauberg, Olivier Ducloux, Eric Gargano, Luciano Rabuffetti, Nicolas Vecchione (captain).
Other players: Joris Afriat, Reuben Ruiz-Daum, Marcio Soriano,
Coach: Marcelo Cordova

Referee: John Wycliffe.

Printer Friendly Page Send this Story to a Friend Create a PDF from the article
To add a comment you must be logged-in.
Comments are owned by the poster