Facebook VolleyballEngland
Username: Password:  Remember me
 + Register
Latest News - London Teams
Men's Div. 2 A : Onyx stay unbeaten against Crusaders
Posted by Douglas Barr-Hamilton on 2017/12/11 18:14:21 (302 reads)

Onyx B beat Flaming Six Crusaders (Men’s D2A - London Volleyball League)
21:19 21:9 21:14

Great news for Onyx!
Great news was the reaction from the first team on hearing of the win. The side maintains its unbeaten record in an entertaining match.

The first set was particularly close with Onyx in front all the way to 16:15 albeit only by a small margin. Then they looked to have lost a little concentration and Crusaders capitalised, drawing level and then going 16:19 in front despite an Onyx timeout one rally earlier. It looked as though the division was going to see a surprise. However, captain Luciano Quercia, setting, rallied his side and, in a brilliant spell of play they overturned the deficit and seized the set.

Full of confidence, Onyx players raised their game in the second set and never looked in danger. The third was less one sided and Crusaders did well while recovering from 18:9 to 18:13 but Onyx had reached 18 points in a devastating spell in which they amassed eleven successive points. One was unusual: Onyx libero, Jordan Joven managed to score defending a ball from Flaming Six attack and Flaming Six was not there ready to receive the return and the crowd witnessed an amazing performance from Onyx outside hitter Audrius Tracaikas who scored in almost every attack. The success allowed them to use both substitutes from 15:9 and they slotted into the squad very well.

Joy for Onyx. Disappointment for Crusaders.

Grateful thanks for contribution from Rocio Trujillo

Jewish Free School, Harrow, 9th December

Onyx B
Starting Six: Artem Chubazov, Luiz Duarte, Janusz Piatek, Luciano Quercia (captain), Karlis Skrastins, Audrius Tracaikas.
Libero: Filipe de Almeida, Jordan Joven.
Other players: Jezy Jurgelianecas, Ales Opatrny.
Coach: G Alzate.

Flaming Six Crusaders
Starting six: Derrick Ang (captain), Mohamad Arasoghli, Jerome Facey, Rafael Jovanelle, Chris Taylor, Krasi Zhechev.
Libero: Arnaud Forget.
Other players: Sander Alewijnse, Taimour El Sakka, Marco Floridia, Nacho Gil.
Coach: Adam Watkins,

Referee: Andrew Kwiatkowski

Printer Friendly Page Send this Story to a Friend Create a PDF from the article
To add a comment you must be logged-in.
Comments are owned by the poster